Assembly Elections 2018

Election Commission Announced Dates for Assembly Elections 2018

Assembly Elections 2018


Chief Election Commissioner OP Rawat on Saturday announced that elections will be held simultaneously in Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, Mizoram and Telangana. In these states, the Code of Conduct is implemented with immediate effect (from Saturday).

He also said that before December 15, four states have to complete electoral process.  Election presses Ashok Lavasa and Sunil Arora were also present in the press conference.



Important Information  given by Chief Election Commissioner

Chhattisgarh will be held in two phases. Voting will be held in the first phase on 12th November. While on November 20, votes will be cast for 72 seats.

All seats of Madhya Pradesh and Mizoram will be voting on November 28.

The elections will be held on December 7 in Telangana and Rajasthan.

On 11th December counting of all the states will be counted.


In Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh and Mizoram, there were delays in the Election Commission’s press conference for some important reasons.

There is a delay in the press conference due to the deadline for the election of a state.

The reason for change of press conference is not political.

Before December 15, four states have to complete electoral process.

The Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly is held on January 5, Madhya Pradesh on January 7, Rajasthan on January 28, while the term of the Mizoram Legislative Assembly is being completed on December 15.



Elections  will be held simultaneously in all the states.

In Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh and Mizoram, the Code of Conduct is implemented with immediate effect.

VVPat machines will be used in the elections.

The entire process will be monitored by CCTV in view of transparency of elections. Videography will also be done.

The Election Commission will be watching every administration officer in the election.


In the current Chhattisgarh assembly, the ruling BJP has 49 seats and Congress has 39 seats and one seat is in the BSP and independents’ account. In the 200-member assembly of Rajasthan, the ruling BJP has 163 and the Congress and others have 37 seats while the 230-member Madhya Pradesh Assembly has 165 of the ruling BJP, 57 of the Congress, four BSP MLAs and three independents. Congress has 34 legislators in Mizoram’s 40-member assembly. The number of assembly seats in Telangana is 119.



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top