Important MCQ on Indian Constitution

1. Who was the first speaker of the Lok Sabha ?

(a) P. Upendra

(b) Hukam Singh

(c) Anantha Sayanam Ayyanagar

(d) Malvankar

Answer: D

2. The state of Bombay was bifurcated into Maharashtra and Gujarat on May 1, in the year

(a) 1959

(b) 1962

(c) 1960

(d) 1958

Answer: 1960

3. Which of the following is correct regarding the Indian Constitution ?

(a) It is completely based on British Constitution.

(b) It is original

(c) It is made only on the basis of Government of India Act, 1935

(d) It is a mixture of several Constitutions.

Answer: It is a mixture of several Constitutions.

4. Which of the following Union Territories attained statehood in February, 1987 ?

(a) Arunachal Pradesh

(b) Daman and Diu

(c) Goa

(d) Pondicherry

Answer: Arunachal Pradesh

5. The 25th Indian state to achieve statehood is

(a) Sikkim

(b) Goa

(c) Arunachal Pradesh

(d) Mizoram

Answer: Goa

6. Chairman of Constitution Drafting Committee at the time of independence was

(a) Sardar Patel

(b) B.R. Ambedkar

(c) S. Radhakrishnan

(d) J.L. Nehru

Answer: B.R. Ambedkar

7. The demand for a Constitution made by the people of India without outside interference was officially asserted by the National Congress in

(a) 1939

(b) 1942

(c) 1935

(d) 1929

Answer: 1935

8. The Constituent Assembly for undivided India first met on

(a) 6th December, 1946

(b) 3rd June, 1947

(c) 20th February, 1947

(d) 9th December, 1946

Answer: 9th December, 1946

9. When was the Madras state renamed Tamil Nadu ? (

a) 1968

(b) 1971

(c) 1969

(d) 1970

Answer: 1969

10. In 1938, who among the following definitely formulated his demand for a Constituent Assembly elected on the basis of adult franchise ?

(a) C.R. Das

(b) Subhash Chandra Bose

(c) Mahatma Gandhi

(d) Jawaharlal Nehru

Answer: Jawaharlal Nehru

11. The first state to become bifurcated after independence was

(a) Punjab

(b) Assam

(c) Bombay

(d) Bengal

Answer: Bombay

12. When the Constituent Assembly for the Dominion of India reassembled on 31st October, 1947, its reduced membership was

(a) 331

(b) 299

(c) 311

(d) 319

Answer: 299

13. For the philosophy underlying our Constitution, the historic Objectives Resolution was moved in the Constituent Assembly on 22nd January, 1947 by

(a) Jawaharlal Nehru

(b) Dr. S. Radhakrishnan

(c) Dr. B.R. Ambedkar

(d) Dr. Rajendra Prasad

Answer; Jawaharlal Nehru

14. Which of the following writs is issued by the court in case of illegal detention of a person ?

(a) Quo Warranto

(b) Habeas Corpus

(c) Mandamus

(d) Certiorari

Answer: Habeas Corpus

15. Which of the following cases cannot be filed directly in the Supreme Court ?

(a) Cases against encroachment on Fundamental Rights

(b) Both (a) and (b) above.

(c) If one‘s property is forcefully occupied by the other

(d) Disputes between two or more States

Answer: Disputes between two or more States